APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition





THE Art OF Patient Counseling

The APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition is conducted in partnership with CVS Health.

♥CVSHealth







2021

The APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition

he major objective of the APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition is to encourage student pharmacists in their efforts toward be-

coming better patient educators. The competition is designed to reflect the changes occurring in pharmacy practice, to promote and encourage further professional development of the student pharmacist, and to reinforce the role of the pharmacist in improving medication use and advancing patient care.

The competition begins on the local level as students compete to be the national representative from their school or college of pharmacy. The competition on the local level may be funded from a variety of sources, such as official college funds, locally obtained funding, state association support, and student fund-raising activities. Both the locally awarded prizes and the travel expenses for the winner to compete in the national competition will be the responsibility of the school or college of pharmacy. Each of the top ten finalists that compete in the final round of local competition will receive an award, compliments of APhA-ASP and CVS Health.

Once the local winner from each school or college of pharmacy is decided, this individual will schedule an appointment to compete on the national level at the APhA2021 Annual Meeting & Exposition in Los Angeles, CA. The national competition is divided into the preliminary round and final round. During the preliminary round, students select a practice scenario at random and are required to counsel a patient on the appropriate use of the drug involved. Students are then given time to refer to the references and determining the appropriate information for the patient, the participants counsel the patient. Evaluations are based on the content and style of the counseling presentations. The ten highest scoring participants are then invited to the final round.

The final round involves a more complex counseling situation where the participants again select a prescription at random and are asked to counsel the patient on safe and effective drug use. In addition, the patient in the final round will display personality characteristics such as anxiousness, belligerence, or apathy to challenge the participants' ability to convey pertinent information in a realistic situation. The top ten finalists in the national competition will be recognized during the APhA-ASP Awards Celebration, and will receive a cash prize compliments of APhA-ASP and CVS Health.

The APhA-ASP National Patient Counseling Competition for student pharmacists is conducted in partnership with CVS Health.

For more information contact:

APhA Student Development Staff Telephone: 1-800-237-2742, ext. 7514 Email: APhA-ASP@APhAnet.org 2215 Constitution Avenue, N.W., Washington, DC, 20037

> **APhA** The APhA Academy of Student Pharmacists (APhA-ASP) represents over 33,000 student pharmacists from the 142 schools and colleges of pharmacy across

the United States and Puerto Rico. The mission of APhA-ASP is to be the collective voice of student pharmacists, to provide opportunities for professional growth, to improve patient care, and to envision and advance the future of pharmacy.

CVS Health CVS Health was founded in 1963, and currently has approximately 9,600 stores across the US. As the largest pharmacy retailer in America, CVS Health is committed to providing outstanding service and value to consumers while meeting their health care needs.

NATIONAL PATIENT COUNSELING COMPETITION Honor Roll

| 1985 | John York, University of Michigan |
|------|--|
| 1986 | Susan Hughes, University at Buffalo |
| 1987 | Jonathan Schiller, St. John's University |
| 1988 | Joy Meier, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy |
| 1989 | Kimberly A. Kill, St. Louis College of Pharmacy |
| 1990 | José Rey, University of Florida |
| 1991 | Martha Wall, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill |
| 1992 | Marissa Buttaro, Philadelphia College of Pharmacy |
| 1993 | Kim Helmbrecht, The University of Iowa |
| 1994 | Kristen Thomas, Campbell University |
| 1995 | Jennifer Schoelles, University of Florida |
| 1996 | Marie Belshe, University of California, San Francisco |
| 1997 | Joanna Labrecque, Campbell University |
| 1998 | Tamar Nicholas, Albany College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences |
| 1999 | Melissa Selby, University of Colorado |
| 2000 | Katie Cubria, Drake University |
| 2001 | Kami Dell, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill |
| 2002 | Jacqueline Parpal, University of Colorado |
| 2003 | Danielle Przychodzin, Shenandoah University |
| 2004 | Michelle Edwards, University of Houston |
| 2005 | Dana Hausmann, University of Houston |
| 2006 | Eric Ip, University of California, San Francisco |
| 2007 | Rebecca Seeba, University of Nebraska Medical Center |
| 2008 | Clint Ross, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences |
| 2009 | Kim Neff, The University of New Mexico |
| 2010 | Krystal Pong, University of California, San Francisco |
| 2011 | Jack McGuire, Sullivan University |
| 2012 | Stacy Pascoe, University of Montana |
| 2013 | David Matthews, The Ohio State University |
| 2014 | Joanna Lyon, Shenandoah University |
| 2015 | Lindsay Kubina, University of Minnesota |
| 2016 | Alexandra Kolwicz, Northeastern University |
| 2017 | Bethany Abrahams, Creighton University |
| 2018 | Sarah Wheeler, The Ohio State University |
| 2019 | Jordyn Williams, University of Missouri, Kansas City |
| 2020 | Henry Quach, The University of Hawaii at Hilo |
| | |