The American Pharmacists Association Political Action Committee (APhA-PAC) was formed in 1985. It is used to support candidates for federal office who have demonstrated support for pharmacy issues and recognize the value of pharmacists in the health care system.

APhA's PAC is a tool with which pharmacists can maintain presence in a crowded arena of various interests in the federal election process.

APhA-PAC is the best tool that pharmacists have for supporting candidates who share our views on important issues.

Donate online to APhA-PAC today!

Mission: To support candidates for federal office who have demonstrated support for pharmacy issues and recognize the value of pharmacists in the health care system

Purpose: To PROMOTE and PROTECT the pharmacy profession The APhA-PAC supports candidates for federal office who have demonstrated support for pharmacists and pharmacy issues and recognize the value of pharmacists in the health care system. The APhA-PAC evaluates contribution decisions based on the following guidelines:

Primary Considerations:

  • The candidate’s position on issues affecting pharmacists and pharmacy practice
  • The character of a candidate, including APhA’s core values of Collaboration, Integrity, Respect, Quality, and Accountability
  • The candidate’s leadership or policy-shaping position in their party or chamber
  • The nature and strength of a candidate’s viability in a given election

Additional Considerations:

  • APhA member recommendations with additional consideration to PAC donor recommendations
  • APhA member presence in a candidate’s state/district
  • Freshman lawmakers
  • Open-seat candidate with a history of support for or a direct connection to pharmacy practice
  • Contributions to national party committees and caucus committees may be given

The APhA-PAC Will NOT Support:

  • A candidate until they have formally declared their intent to seek federal political office
  • Presidential campaigns
  • A government official’s personal defense fund
  • Debt retirement for a candidate
  • Leadership PACs

APhA-PAC Supported Candidates 2019-2020

First Name Last Name State Party Chamber
Kelly Armstrong ND-01 R House
Cindy Axne IA-03 D House
Lisa Blunt Rochester DE-AL D House
Anthony Brindisi NY-22 D House
Michael Burgess TX-26 R House
G.K. Butterfield NC-01 D House
Buddy Carter GA-01 R House
Yvette Clarke NY-09 D House
Doug Collins GA-09 R House
TJ Cox CA-21 D House
Angie Craig MN-02 D House
John Curtis UT-03 R House
Sharice Davids KS-03 D House
Madeleine Dean PA-04 D House
Diana DeGette CO-01 D House
Suzan DelBene WA-01 D House
Debbie Dingell MI-12 D House
Anna Eshoo CA-18 D House
Vicente Gonzalez TX-15 D House
Morgan Griffith VA-09 R House
Brett Guthrie KY-02 R House
Diana Harshbarger TN-01 R House
Rita Hart IA-02 D House
Steny Hoyer MD-05 D House
Dave Joyce OH-14 R House
Robin Kelly IL-02 D House
Ron Kind WI-03 D House
Annie Kuster NH-02 D House
Darin LaHood IL-18 R House
Bob Latta OH-05 R House
Susie Lee NV-03 D House
John Lewis GA-05 D House
Doris Matsui CA-06 D House
Kevin McCarthy CA-23 R House
David McKinley WV-01 R House
Cathy McMorris Rodgers WA-05 R House
Markwayne Mullin OK-02 R House
Donald Norcross NJ-01 D House
Tom O Halleran AZ-01 D House
Frank Pallone NJ-06 D House
Nancy Pelosi CA-12 D House
Tom Reed NY-23 R House
Steve Scalise LA-01 R House
Jan Schakowsky IL-09 D House
Darren Soto FL-09 D House
Mike Thompson CA-05 D House
Paul Tonko NY-20 D House
Lauren Underwood IL-14 D House
Tim Walberg MI-07 R House
Peter Welch VT-AL D House
Shelley Moore Capito WV R Senate
Bill Cassidy LA R Senate
Joni Ernst IA R Senate
Chuck Grassley IA R Senate
Maggie Hassan NH D Senate
Martha McSally AZ R Senate
Rik Mehta NJ R Senate
Patty Murray WA D Senate
Chuck Schumer NY D Senate
John Thune SD R Senate
Ron Wyden OR D Senate


How are PACs regulated?

PACs are regulated by federal campaign finance laws. The Federal Election Commission (FEC) was established by the 1971 Federal Election Campaign Act law (FECA). The FEC collects detailed financial activity of all PACs on a frequent basis and makes the reports available to any citizen. All federal PACs operate under strict limits on what they can give per candidate per election. They are a well-established, safe mechanism for supporting federal candidates that support pharmacy. 

Who can contribute to APhA-PAC?

APhA's PAC can only accept contributions from individual APhA members with a limit of $5,000 per year. APhA's PAC cannot accept funds from foreign nationals, corporations, unions, or other associations with whom APhA does not have an affiliation agreement. APhA’s PAC must also must disclose anonymous cash contributions over $50 and cash contributions from a known donor that aggregate to $100 or more. 

How can you contribute to APhA-PAC?

  • Text-to-Done: Text “Action” to 50155. You will receive a text back with a link through which to contribute
  • Check: Mail a personal check to


Attn: Mary-Ryan Douglass

2215 Constitution Avenue, NW

Washington, DC 20037

  • Cash: Mail your contribution to the same address listed above. Include documentation regarding your name, address, phone, email, employer, and occupation. Remember the limits regarding cash contributions from anonymous ($50) and known ($100) contributors.


As a federal committee, the APhA-PAC can only contribute to candidates who are running for federal office. APhA-PAC is not affiliated with any political party.  The PAC is governed by a Board of Governors which oversees the fundraising and disbursement activities of the Committee. The Board works with the APhA’s Government Affairs department to determine which federal candidates receive an APhA-PAC contribution. Additionally, any recommendations for giving made by APhA members are given consideration by APhA.