APhA Good Government Student Pharmacist-of-the-Year Award


The award, established in 2004, recognizes a student pharmacist who successfully organizes student pharmacist grassroots activity within their chapter and actively promotes the value of advocating for the profession. The award, is based on the student's ability to raise awareness of local and national pharmacy issues while embracing the concept of teamwork and collaboration among students, practitioners, and their state pharmacy association. This award is presented twice during APhA Annual Meeting & Exposition; at the Political Leadership Reception and at the APhA-ASP House of Delegates.


Nominees must be active members of APhA-ASP and their state pharmacy association. The nominees' activities must have raised student pharmacists' awareness of current state and federal issues and made a positive impact on the pharmacy profession. Conducting coordinated responses to local bills and APhA Calls to Action, while not required, are considered important criteria. Emphasis is to be placed on students who utilize a political information "network" that include but are not limited to students, practitioners, and state association members.

Nomination Process

The nominator is responsible for submitting the award nomination packet online via Formsite. The deadline for nomination materials is December 15th annually. The award nomination packet includes:

  • Nomination form
  • A letter from the nominator describing the most important achievements of the nominee and explaining why the nominee meets the criteria for the award
  • One letter of recommendation required; state association letter preferred
  • Description of political activities and/or supporting documentation
Selection Process

The selection is made by the APhA-PAC Board of Governors based upon careful review of complete nominations and with the assistance of the APhA-ASP Awards Standing Committee. 

Nature of the Award

The award is presented during the APhA Political Leadership Reception held during the APhA Annual Meeting. The recipient will receive the following: (a) a $1,000 cash award, (b) an award plaque, (c) a U.S. flag previously flown over the U.S. Capitol, (d) a complimentary meeting registration, and (e) five (5) Political Leadership Reception tickets. The recipient will again be honored at the APhA-ASP House of Delegates.


2020 - Scotty Reams, University of Kentucky
2019 - Michael Harvey, Drake University
2018 - Sierra Richards, University of Missouri - Kansas City
2017 - Marilyn Gaske, University of Illinois at Chicago
2016 - Hanna Burgin, University of Cincinnati
2015 - Sarah Barden, Virginia Commonwealth University
2014 - Daniel Kudryashov, University of Southern California 
2013 - Jonathan Magness, The University of Utah  
2012 - Kyle Hampson, Duquesne University
2011 - Andrew Helm, Washington State University
2010 - Kenneth Fletcher, Midwestern University-Glendale
2009 - Suzanne Wise, University of Florida
2008 - Ashley Smith, University of Louisiana at Monroe
2007 - Marie Ganski, University of Wisconsin-Madison
2006 - Sarah Elliot, University of Washington
2005 - Emily Stamos, University of Wisconsin-Madison


All nominations are due annually by December 15.

Return to APhA-ASP Awards & Scholarships